Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No pies

It was supposed to be a Play, Pie and Pint day, but it was fully booked! In all the years I've been going to them, I've never booked. But then, they're not usually on in the school holidays.

Too bad. We popped over to Montpelier's for lunch. Rufus's mum was able to come too, as the poor wee chap was being operated on. He's had a sore paw, on and off for ages. But finally, it was deemed that whatever it was should be removed. So C was quite glad to have her mind taken off him for an hour or so.

He's home (see extra) has eaten his tea, and is snoozing now. He'll have his big red bandage on for a couple of days, and then NO running around! (Not much chance of that - Rufus is a famously slow mover).

We had a nice lunch (thanks C), Archie was given water and several biscuits by the staff, and I saved a couple of bits of not-crispy-enough bacon for him. It worked a treat for recalls!

JR went into town while C and I walked back through the Links. Then I took Archie up the Hill. I stopped to ring Bailey's mum to see if Bailey could come with us (they get a better run around together) but she was away up Arthur's Seat with one of her many borrowers. Where I stopped there was a fab patch of these daffodils with the orange trumpets - I've been meaning to stop there for ages. On the Hill we met a gorgeous Kerry Blue, with a beautiful soft curly coat like a blue lamb.

The suitcases are out. We're off on an adventure tomorrow. Archie's coming too, though we haven't told him yet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.