Willows at Ely

Something different today - I went to a Panto - oh yes I did! It was The Wizard of Oz and it had been on over the weekend in Ely. As it was still school holiday the majority of the audience were children but I was there as a helper when the nursing home that my ancient aunt now lives in took a party of the residents to see the show. It was quite an operation getting about a dozen wheelchair users there - some had to stay in their chairs but others could transfer to the theatre seats. My aunt had the additional complication of requiring oxygen - this was the first time she had been out because they had to get a portable cylinder for her. The home has a good programme  of activities and entertainment in house every day but also, now summer is coming, several outings are planned and I will be going with them again - it is lovely to see how much the old folk  enjoy the change of scenery even if they are not able to express themselves very well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.