Lemony1Lemon

By Lemony1Lemon

Day 33- Mudapuka going to Taupo

Another great nights sleep I had a double bed bunkbed all to myself and shared a room with Jasmine and her brother who are from mexico who were lovely. We had breakfast and then we took our food parcels to the school in Mudapuka. When we arrived the kids were all stood in lines, boys at the back and girls at the front and they did a huka (a tribal chant and dance) and the boys do the really fierce face expressions which were cool. We all sat at the front on some steps and introduced ourselves and the kids asked us some questions about our countries. Then kids came and took us to tables to show us some of there work and ask us some more questions, I got taken to a table with 6 kids aged 10-11 they had some really good questions and where suprised about the little culture traditions that we have in England compared to here. A girl called shaneqa ran over told me I looked pretty and then ran away again haha was so sweet. The kids then did a farewell chant and sway.  We then headed to Taupo when we stopped off at huka falls it's around 11m  high but thousands and thousands of gallons of water go through every second making it the most powerful waterful in New Zealand. We then headed to Taupo when we stopped off at huka falls it's around 11m  high but thousands and thousands of gallons of water go through every second making it the most powerful waterful in New Zealand. I got dropped off at my hostel the urban retreat it's really quirky and had a little wander around the town and got some information together for plans for tomorrow. I had a little look in a photography gallery and had a chilled evening :)

I was given permission to take pictures of the children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.