Giving Thanks; reasons to smile

April 9th - Mum's birthday, today she should be 64. A year ago I posted THIS explaining what the day has come to mean to me. A year on it somehow means more, it's become my measure, the point at which I pause and ponder. For 25 years I refused to work on my birthday, but now it's this date that's blanked out in the diary, today is a day for me & mum, and today she was most certainly smiling down on me as it was a glorious day to get IntotheHills.

It's 6 years now since mum was taken from us and in those years our lives have changed enormously, in nearly every aspect for the better, something I know she's happy to see, something it's taken a while to be able to accept. But this last six months I've been personally beset with injuries and setbacks, stacking up, debilitating me,  seeming to threaten that happy life. I think as the months and injuries have gone on and on, as recovery has seemed harder & harder I've drifted as close to depression as an eternal optimist like me is able to get - when Mum was killed anger, grief and guilt held me for far too long, but even then I knew I'd fight them off, find a way forward. Recently I've felt a long way off that path and it's been far more difficult to come to terms with than I'd ever have thought.

Today I was always heading IntotheHills, stupid niggling pains or no - , so I strapped up the  ankle and wrist, took a lot of ibuprofen and set forth good and early, and as ever the mountains worked their magic. Sat peacefully alone atop a crag, with a 360° panorama and the sun on your face it's difficult not to feel blessed. Returning 5 years ago to a life in the mountains reinforced some old friendships, but I've also made more new friends in these 'second life' years than in the 20 before - friends who've supported and encouraged me, laughed and on occasion cried with me, all of whom I'm immensely thankful for. 
On Cam Crag Ridge today I paused before the steep little headwall and realised that whilst this is still a relatively easy day out even now for me, there are many for whom it's just not possible. I smiled at my  blessings and scrambled to the top.

I've written before that God and I no longer see eye to eye, but that doesn't mean I'm without faith or don't think there could be something more - today, in a cathedral such as this, who could not? Sat in a hollow on Glaramara this afternoon, where this blip was taken, looking at the majesty of the fells I read this back and realised I'd written we instead of I in many places. Today Mum was most certainly with me and today we were both smiling.

I know some of you like to know; so today's route was Rosthwaite to Langstrath, them up Cam Crag Ridge, across Coombe Doors to Glaramara and then down along Thornythwaite Fell.
The extra shows the scope of today's views.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.