Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Breath of God.

Once, when I was travelling in Africa, I met a man that used a certain term for the down draft that you get before a pressure system. In his poor English, with bad teeth and even worse smelling breath, he endeavoured to describe the effect that had just swept past us.

The gist, amongst varied spitting and coughing, was that God/Allah breathed out and his almighty breath carried the power of life...water!

Now....don't get me wrong, but......well, you know! How he made sense of it is all well and good for him.

Standing in the middle of the fens tonight after along day, watching a massive cloud system twirling around on itself, I had a wall of wind hit me. It carried with it the smell of rain and heat, ionised air, full of power and excitement. The smell of all that energy and electricity was intoxicating, my head reeled and my heart leaped. As I looked on, the first bolt of lightning struck out across the sky. Here was life... thrilling, powerful, raw and stunningly beautiful, I watched, watched till my eyes hurt and until the huge rain drops fell.

The storms (three of them pulled together and apart again) made some fantastic light displays. I love a good storm. The hot wind that goes with it is just as thrilling..... The breath of God ('god breathe' as the rotten smelly fellow put it!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.