Lemony1Lemon

By Lemony1Lemon

Day 37 - Tongariro crossing

5.00am alarm went off.. sleepy! We loaded the bus at 5.45am and made our way back to civilisation (well half.)
We arrived at pukenui lodge where we are staying and then a mini van came to get us to take us to the crossing.

Tongariro crossing!!!!!! If someone pre warned me how challenging/ near death experience I definately would not have done it. I mean I'm glad I can say iv walked it. But 19km pretty much rock climbing half the way in torrential rain pour in 1 degree is not my idea of fun. But the feeling of getting to the end was amazing! Anyone else that wants to do the crossing.... if you even sniff rain in the air DO NOT DO IT! But at least now I can tick one of the world's top ten most beautiful walks off my list! (In 5 hours and 45 minutes :) )
And it's a good job the women made me rent some walking boots I would have broke my neck!
So we got to the end and the bus driver has a beer for everyone.. winner! We headed back and fought over the showers! Then I was pooped for the rest of the evening haha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.