Fisherking

By Fisherking

........curmudgeonly old git...........

No not Roy...........although he can be...........I mean me,.

For the last four or five years I've felt that my life has been spiraling downwards...........decreasing health............not  enjoying the job........the passing of two work colleagues, an aunt, a cousin, three good friends, father in law, my Dad and of course my beloved Helen..........retirement plans that crashed with Helen's death............ sleepless nights

Of course there have been highs as well not least the births of my two wonderful grand daughters, holidays, new cars, friends.........but generally a slow descent like a satellite falling out of orbit.

Looking through my blips I see the evidence.......the majority have been shot in and around this house.........less comments from people I consider friends.........fewer, and less lengthy comments from me on others blips.

It's also seemed, for most of last year, as if the weather has been dull, damp and windy...............and then, today, something strange happened. At 4.00 a.m. I looked out of the bedroom window into thick mist.....I tried to go back to sleep,......restless....at 5.15 I looked out of the window........heavy frost..............back into bed...........at 7.45 I got up, dressed, looked outside....bright sunshine. In the just over six hours since I went to bed the weather had changed from rain to fog to freezing to sunny...and I decided..............it was time I changed too.

I had breakfast and went to see the boys...........and I took the camera........and shot a portrait...........outside..............in the sun!

There's a wedding three weeks off............a joyous occasion.......there'll be sadness because Helen isn't there...........but what it doesn't need is me moping around feeling sorry for myself and spreading gloom and despondency....so here goes......positive, bright, sunny............oh there'll be slip up and fall backs along the way....but I'm going to give it a shot........and I'm going to laugh.........or at least smile........ every day.

Das vidanya moy padruga

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.