Belfast Cathedral

Woke up late today at 9am. When i woke up, I was the only one left in the room. Gathered my stuff and dressed quickly and ordered "The Belfast" from the hostel cafe. It was still raining outside by the time I was done with breakfast but i have to carry on. Walked down to Queen's University (See Extra Photos) and was there in 7 mins. The Lanyon building is a very impressive structure. There was no reception/porter's lodge as you enter the lobby (Galileo's sculpture was there though) so i went on and entered the court yard. I saw an arrow pointing to the Great Hall. And of course, Great Halls here in the UK are a must see and so i proceeded. Unfortunately there was a numeric padlock. But the good thing was that the door was ajar. I slowly entered and went straight to the Great Hall. It was a beautiful room but since i sneaked in, I took 3 quick photos and left the room. As i left the room, a utility man saw me but did not seem to mind that i was there. I was obviously an outsider as I was holding a massive camera in my hand. Took a few more photos of the exterior of the building before heading straight to Caroll's gift shop. Ohh did i mention in yesterday's blip that I lost my favourite beanie and the scarf i got from Bangkok? Yes i did. At Caroll's gift shop, I was able to buy a beanie with a similar color as the one i lost at the Causeway. I did not bother with buying a scarf since they were ridiculously expensive.

I also visited two Starbucks branches afterwards for my tumbler collection but they didnt have any tumblers on sale. Sigh....

I went to St. Anne's Cathedral (Belfast Cathedral) as well. I did not expect a payment for entry. And i was so disappointed that I left my student card at the hostel in my backpack. I could have saved 2GBP from the fee. The church was beautiful and I am happy to have "collected" another cathedral to my photo collection. They had this quite amazing embroidered wall carpet. The embroidery was shaped into a cross and made up of little crosses of different sizes sewn on top of each other (See Extra Photos).

I went back to the hostel to collect my backpack and drank coffee. I still have  2 sachets of the Nescafe double mocha i bought from Tesco Cannon Park. The rain would not let and by the time i decided to leave for Europa BusCentre, it was pouring. I got soaked or at least my jacket by the time i got to the bus station. I arrived at the airport lounge very early at 4pm. I had a good 2 hours of waiting, good thing wifi was free. I believe I was already home by 830pm. My bed felt sooooo good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.