The Glass Church, Jersey

The church of St. Matthew in Millbrook looks rather plain from the outside but inside it is very unusual almost everything except the floor and the pews is made of glass.
Built in 1840, it was transformed in 1934 when Lady Florence Trent commissioned Rene Lalique to refurbish it in memory of her late husband, Sir Jesse Boot, founder of Boots the Chemists.
Working in collaboration with local architect A.B.Grayson the interior became as you see now. I took several photos, of course, so I will put some more on Flickr when I get home tomorrow (or today if the iPad lets me!)
It was actually raining when I took these but this probably helped in capturing the details of the glass in close up - bright sun would have made it shine more but the contrast would be lost.
On Flickr try this https://www.flickr.com/photos/128592161@N02/25835276783/in/dateposted-public/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.