View Through My Lens...

By boyzee

Pub Sign Challenge - Day 3

Here we are on Day 3 (and I am already a bit bored of this challenge!!!).

Today's offering features the Black Swan in Monxton Village. This pub is affectionately known as the 'Mucky Duck' and has been for as long as I can remember. The front of the pub can be seen here.

Like the George Inn of yesterday, it is a v v v old coaching inn. It offers an excellent menu and beer.

The Black Swan itself dates from at least 1662, possibly earlier, and the 350 years since have seen a number of changes, while keeping one eye firmly on tradition. Originally, 'Ye Swan', the pub became the Black Swan in the mid 19th century, when it was very much a traveller's rest. You can visit its website here.

We are off camping for a week tomorrow morning, so my ability to keep up with the challenge might get a bit tested over the next week, but I will come back to it when I am back in residence!!

In the mean time, let me encourage you all out there to share your pubs with us all on Blip! After all, they could form the backbone of venues for Blip meets???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.