View Through My Lens...

By boyzee

Pub Sign Challenge - Day 2

Welcome to Day 2 of my Great British Pub Sign Challenge.

This is the George Inn in Thruxton - the village that lends its name to the famous Racing Circuit next to the A303. I have to admits I have never been in it, but I was in a bit of hurry today to get back to get Hannah changed and ready for her end of year school disco, and I knew this pub was on my way.

The origins of The George Inn is quite easy. This sign depicts a picture of George III, the Prince Regent (see Blackaddder the Third series/season for an understanding of this colourful character in English history!!). The George Inn is a quite common name for pubs in England. It ranks in the top 10 of most popular names. This particular pub was a former 'Coaching Inn' and dates back to the 17th century. More details of what it has to offer today can be found at this website. What you do get here is a very warm welcome and a nice pint - Flacks Double Drop - what a great name!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.