Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday treat!

My birthday today - if I were counting them anymore, but I'm not - so I ignored it, mostly.

Didn't do my now fairly regular early morning walk, electing instead to relax and do some blip browsing in bed for a while. Much more relaxing. 

We went for a viewing of a rather terrific apartment with the obligatory pool, and a river view. We always have a look at real estate wherever we holiday. We nearly bought a house in one French visit. And we did buy a house in Mexico once. This turned out to be not such a good idea, as it coincided with the drug wars killing spree for the next several years. Happy to report that we changed our minds about living there and sold it!

House prices in Noosa, and probably Australia, have come down quite a lot, but they're still amazingly expensive. So we didn't sign any cheques!

What special thing did I do on my birthday? A bucket of prawns all to myself? A swish dinner at a riverside restaurant? An evening meal and cruise on the river? 

No - my birthday treat request was a glass (or two) of wine sitting by the river for the afternoon/evening. Oh, and a bag of crisps. I'm very cheap to take out!

We've seen lots of folk doing this. It's a very sensible custom. So plastic wine glasses and a bottle of NZ white were purchased and we bagged a choice seat at the river, watched the world and his dog go by and the sun go down. Magic!

What was even more magic, was that a swarm of lorikeets came and roosted in the gum tree we were sitting under. I spent AGES trying to get a decent photo of one.Took dozens and dozens of photos until my head and arms nearly dropped off. Needless to say, I had to delete most of them. This one is almost all right, but not as sharp as I'd've liked. 

Up early tomorrow for the famous Sunday Farmer's market, and then - wait for it - Sunday roast pig on a spit at a country pub. Should be LOTS of blip opportunities, and hopefully not too many having to be deleted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.