P.L.U.T.O.

No not the planet, but Pipe Line Under The Ocean. As the tide was right out this morning, I took Daisy for a long walk on the beach. These old pipes had been exposed in the low tide, even though I have lived here for 20 years (to the day today!) I have never seen them before. They are all corroded now, and broken in places, but I wonder what they used to carry...

There were so many of them, and it was fascinating to see them all. There are still pipes that go under the sea, but now they are plastic, and there is a sign about 100m from here which marks where one (or more) is. 

I've also made a collage of the other view of the pipe, and of the remains of an old harbour. The second extra shows where I live in relation to the beach. You can't actually see my house, but you can get a rough idea.

I've found some more information on the pipes here. http://www.maritimearchaeologytrust.org/pluto What a history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.