Bright Light, Dark Room

By ellies

Bonny Banks

Got up early this morning and drove to Glasgow. Nothing special about that other than I have a real phobia about driving. It's 16 years since I passed my test but, until last October, I could probably have counted on my fingers the number of times I'd driven in that time. It frightens me and I get cold sweats and panics thinking about it. I used to have actual genuine nightmares about a roundabout in Newcastle. Some people understand, most don't. I suppose that's like most fears and phobias. In October, my auntie decided to give me her car as, in her 90s, she'd decided to stop driving. A very kind thing to do but a mixed blessing. The Fear. It has been baby steps over the last few months. First of all I could only drive to Sainsbury's down the road. Then I could drive to work and even lift share with a colleague. I can drive to one of the stable yards I go to, and I recently extended my repertoire to the Fort at Newcraighall. So going to Glasgow, on motorways and stuff, on my own, was an achievement. I didn't enjoy it, but I'm proud that I did it. Trouble is, I have to drive back tomorrow.... arrrgh!!!

Mum and I drove (well, she drove!) up to Loch Lomond this afternoon and I treated her to lunch at Duck Bay for her birthday. It was sunny and rainy and cold in equal measures, but it didn't stop us having an ice cream in Balloch. Nice day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.