mrsc48

By mrsc48

Scrap yard

This little piece of equipment operates a sewing machine. You put your foot on it, accelerate to go faster, take it off to stop. Easy.

I've not used this particular sewing machine ever. It's a singer. Hundreds of years old but I was amazed how my knowledge returned, how to fill the spool, how to thread the needle and how to make it work. The light, I think went out years ago, but it was light enough in the room for the simple task I had to do.

It wasn't rocket science, 4 straight lines was all that was needed, no corners to negotiate or fancy stitches, a straight line. Simple.

So with velcro in place ready to sew I started, a nifty little machine but something wasn't quite right, it was missing out some stitches, so unpicked and start again, a little adjustment with a dial or two, I'd only do an inch or two to see if it was better.

After pushing on the pedal, guiding the fabric for a couple of inches I took my foot off the pedal, lifted the foot to temove the fabric to admire my work, but the machine kept going on its own! The ghost had struck again!

I tried to switch it off by the on off button, but no, it kept going. As I looked to the plug to pull it out I saw smoke coming from the foot pedal, it was a real thick grey smelly smoke. As I was at work and it was gone midnight I did not want the fire alarm to activate causing worry and stess to others sleeping in the building, So I quickly opened the door to outside, threw it out and began to flap a tea towel frantically as you do to disperse the smoke away from the detectors. Thankfully this worked and all were able to sleep unaware of my drama unfolding downstairs.

The guilty part is now in the bin to avoid further trauma if someone else decides to do a little sewing. The machine itself has a little repreive until we decide if a new pedal is worth it or if the machine too, should go to the scrap yard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.