My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

Velodrome

Another compulsory rehearsal today. I now travel to Leyton and walk down to the site as Stratford is getting really busy. We found out on the way in that we would be in costume but without hair and make-up done. It all become very exciting and feels that bit closer. We had a long wait before walking to our Vom to get ready. The kids we are working with only just arrived in time and they were totally hyper after having been in their holding area for a long time. We had both staging and technical issues during the rehearsal and the kids were uncontrollable which made it a difficult time for all involved. We stayed and watched all of the other sections but left during the Parade of the Athletes. The show looked amazing and really cheered me up.

Its also been a tough day as it was my Uncle Brian's funeral so I spent a lot of the day thinking about my family and how they were all feeling. After getting changed I walked back through the park and the most beautiful sunset appeared behind the Stadium. While I'm not religious it gave me a very spiritual feeling. One of Brian's favourite hymns also plays in my section of the Ceremony.

I decided to meet some friends in the pub for drinks and then went for dinner at Wahaca which took my mind off everything.


Velodrome, Olympic Park, London


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.