An Artist's Life

By MariB

Dedication and Farewell to Barbara

The dedication of St. Barbara was slated for 8:30am and I was to meet Major General John Rossi (he's in camo so was difficult to find) and retiring Lt. General David Halverson (he's ready for the golf tournament that is to follow the dedication so was much easier to see). It was bloody cold! Near freezing and Barbara is in the shade in the morning. Barbara was a gift to Fort Sill from Gen. Halverson, who stated, "St. Barbara saved my ass more than once in the Middle East." I have a feeling he made several promises to Barbara while he was leading the Army there. He also told everyone that my father was a Coast Artilleryman in WW2 and thanked him for his service. I told him I dedicated this sculpture to my dad.
Brenda, who is pictured with Rossi, Halverson and me, was the liaison for all the Government fol-di-rol that this project entailed. She was also there to get Halverson's check.
When we unveiled Barbara, Halverson gave me the biggest bear-hug. I've never seen a general cry before. 

It was sad to leave Barbara, but she has a job to do and is surrounded by those who love her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.