DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

In da club

Tonight was my first camera club meeting!

Possibly not the best night to go as there was a guest speaker, so I didn't really get chance to speak to many people.

That said, the speaker (a guy called Bob Dennis) was really good. He showcased many of his award winning photos with a little bit of humour and back story to each one.

I was introduced to the group before the lecture began and received a warm welcome.

Being a newbie of course made me a target; one guy in particular made a beeline for me and chastised me jokingly....I think for taking my camera to a camera club!

We chatted a little in the interval and he's offered his services for the future; although the lady who originally invited me to the club said he possibly wasn't the best person for the job as he's too advanced.
As she put it 'us beginners need to know about bread and jam, not caviar'!

It was kind of him to offer though.

I can't go for the next few weeks, but I will definitely go again. I've been told that in summer, they meet at various outdoor locations and work together in teams taking and critiquing photos, which again would be a great way to learn. I was also encouraged to submit photos for the club competitions which again is a great way to get feedback.

I realised on the way home I didn't have a blip, so this was the best I could manage at 10.30pm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.