There and back again

By Mikes

Freya May Russell

7 going on 17
Our Granddaughter Freya is staying with us on Dartmoor this week. She is a wonderful 7+ little girl who never, I mean never stops talking. Today Mrs M and I have been looking after her all by ourselves, How hard can that be, I mean we had three daughters and it didn't seem too hard then, 50 years ago!

On our walk this morning she surprised us by shouting "Look at me Pop Pop" from the top of a 30 feet rock face, which she had scaled unseen in about 30 seconds leaving us both frozen to the spot with fear (of what we were going to tell her mother)

She then organized our morning shop for us pointing out what one should have for breakfast.

After lunch she got us to have a walk in the local wood and when we tried to gain the upper hand by us choosing a visit to a National Trust property, she left Mrs M and me trailing in her wake, even a slice of cake did not slow her down OR stop the chatter

After we got home I had to take a tablet and lay down in a dark room while I left Mrs M to cope

When daughter No2 arrived home after work she found us mere shells of our former selves

At the moment our little angel is in bed, but not asleep so I can expect a visit to where I am typing this very soon.. Remember the name Freya May Russell because I am sure before too long her name will be up in lights in the Westend
This wonderful little girl with a wonderful inventive mind and the gift of the gab will go far

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.