PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

300 In 4 Years...

That's how I roll. At glacial speed. ;)

I'll plead mitigating circumstances and leave it at that. I'll endeavour to up that post rate a bit from now on. I've said it before and I'll say it one last time. I'm so so happy that BlIp survived*, not only that but is now people powered. I think that's truly fab. I kid you not, when I wasn't posting here I was really feeling the loss of all my regular blippers, you know who you are. You are all a major inspiration, so thank you for sticking it out when I didn't. It gave me something great to come back to, right when I need it most.

I've seen some of you post that you're struggling to keep blipping now that you're blip immortals heading well into your blip thousands. I hope you never stop. Slowing down, to ensure you keep coming back though… that's another thing entirely. I can't do the daily blip forever thing** without a reason but I admire those of you that do.

Ansel Adams famously remarked that he was happy if he got 12 good images done in a year. Now Ansel's good and yours and my good are likely very different things, but the sentiment is sound. Truly good work takes time. Time is something that BlIp simultaneously is all about, yet also can steal from you if you're not careful. It's wonderful combo of words and images is IMO the closest thing we have today to Picture Post and the Mass Observation movement ( if you know where to look on Blip) but that can be demanding. And it's a demand I don't necessarily want to capitulate to. Not if I want my 12 good images to be better than just "good".

We're not all super prolific like Schuh, Jimmy Dunn and Imindoors you know. ;)

So blip is my wonderful sketchbook cum diary. I'm rarely going to try for a finished, polished work here. But I promise I'll try to be interesting. And when I haven't got nothin' I won't post nothin'.






*I'm sure that's true for most here.

** Although I'm going to try and get to 400 continuously just to get used to my xpro



/ So my second love after photography is videogames. I know some of you will think that sad, but I'm a geek so there.

As my grip has worsened, writing like this has become more difficult, more painful. So my hobby of writing about them has slowed. But just recently, I discovered the joy of the podcast and currently am involved in the making of 2 games related ones. One that I do with my kid all about our current gaming adventures and another with an old gaming friend about gaming for grownups with lives which is a little less suitable for family listening. Today we recorded episode 2 of the latter. The first one got a hundred odd listens which was great for a first go. These are the cans I use for it. I'll be honest, I just love them because they glow orange. :)

It's great fun to do. Although it takes a load of time. This one will be about 2 hours long =/

Trying to get my head round a photo podcast too. But I struggle with it. Nobody to bounce off in that one. /

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.