There and back again

By Mikes

Invitation to Explore

Normal service resumed. Early this morning I beamed myself back to Dartmoor, via the A38 and already feel better for it. Thanks to all who sent there good wishes for my 200th. I had miscalculated somewhere and thought my 200th was today!!.

For my afternoon walk I had a wonder around Shapley Common on the eastern side of the moor and this dark little lane seemed to be inviting you to explore. I had seen it before and always thought the sign on the gate would read "Keep Out" but I now see is says "Please Close the gate", a much more inviting sign.

It is obviously a gate of some age, set in this old stone wall. The map appears to show the lane leading to the hamlet of Lettaford, just off the edge of the moor.
Looking down the lane into the cool darkness, a vibrant pink fox glove seems to show you the way. But no time today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.