The best Dad/Grandad in the World!

How much can you fit into one day?

Myself and hubby both did our local park run. I ran my fastest time yet and my fastest 5km since I was 16 which was well over 20 years ago. Not bad for an old bird, especially when it usually takes me at least 10km to get warmed up!

Then I took Olivia to the opticians to have her eyes checked where we received bad news. Her eyesight has deteriorated rapidly in the last six months. It could have something to do with a recent growth spurt, her obsession with reading or something much more worrying. She needs new lenses in her glasses and further tests.

Home for a quick play before heading out with Mum and the kids to collect balloons and cake for the surprise party at a restaurant this evening. I have no idea how the kids have kept this a secret from Dad as they have been so excited, but they've done a great job. Mum has also done an amazing job getting everything organised, and the cake is fab - it's in the style of a newspaper, as my Dad loves his newspapers!

Mum kept the 'do' as small as possible with only very close family and friends, as my Dad is quite shy and doesn't like a fuss. He didn't have a clue, and although he didn't enjoy being the centre of attention, I think he had a lovely evening. It was lovely for us to catch up with close family and friends of the family and the kids had a blast playing with their cousins and the super deluxe party bags that Mum had put together for them!

Happy (early) birthday Dad. 
You have no idea how much we all love you, x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.