a new year!

By Thesalh70

We're gonna rock down to..broxtowe avenue!

On Monday, mum will move into 49 and an era at 24 will come to an end.

41 years at no.24! All of my life that has been our family home. We moved there just short of my first birthday and my pram (huge silver cross thing) was too big to go anywhere other than the foot of the stairs!

This street holds so much history for us. This is where I learnt to ride my first bike! This is where we used to play out til dusk and not worry about the traffic. This is where we used to play 'knock a door run', and also I confess to tying cotton to people's letter boxes and then snapping it after I'd pulled it so it made them come to their front door!

This street is where we held 2 fantastic street parties, one for the silver jubilee in '77, and one that took place 31 years ago today for Charles & Diana's wedding.

A hedge in this street is where I used to hide some dodgy Clarkes shoes every morning (and put some nice ones on!) when I started at the comp!

I drove my first car down this street. White fiesta, go faster stripes!

We had fantastic neighbours in those days, mic was part of our family and still is!

My dad took his final journey down this street. Horse and carriage and us following behind, people outside their houses paying their respects.

But it's time to move on and let someone else make memories there and hope that have the happiness we had as a family!

On Sunday night we will have one last sleep over!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.