Abandoned in Guildford

Normally I would relish the chance to spend a day by myself in a town I had never been to and knew nothing about, but . . . the weather forecast was miserable and so it turned out to be.

Never mind, plenty of cafes, and a nice library to sit in and read my book when the rain was really bad. Then a very helpful lady at the Tourist Information Centre gave me a Historical Trail map and of course I had to follow this - rain or not.

It was a fascinating, despite the weather. I found a castle (well the keep of a castle anyway), a ruined palace, a castle arch, a museum, a navigable river and a wharf (opened in 1653 and "The secret of Guildford's success").

I also found a link with Lewis Carroll and two statues of Alice. Here is one half of one of them - Alice sits with her sister and notices a white rabbit heading off down a hole. (If I can manage to do it on the iPad I will add the rabbit in extras - it was very difficult to photograph the two together and I did like the two sisters.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.