Fisherking

By Fisherking

........Ali bomaye................

Didn't sleep much last night......trying to make decisions about my health.........see yesterdays blip...........during the 4.30 to 6.00 wide awake spell I turned on the tv to be faced by the breaking news of the death of Ali.

I knew this was going to happen when I saw on Thursday that he had gone into hospital.

One of my sporting heroes...........fast hands..........fast feet........poetry in motion........I  know some didn't like him.............my Dad was one......at the start........thought he was brash, big headed, disrespectful........always believed that Angelo Dundee had cut Ali's glove after the knock down by Henry Cooper so as to gain more recovery time..........but eventually Dad changed his mind and became a real fan.

No matter what you thought of Ali two things have to be remembered..........he lost three and a half years at the peak of his career because of his beliefs...............and he, like many sportsmen, didn't make a fuss but used some of his wealth to help others via the Muhammad Ali Parkinsons Centre, Para Olympics, Make-a-wish, Michael J. Fox Foundation, UNICEF and 14 other organisations.

I've heard all the quotes.........but my favourite one isn't a round prediction...........or a poem............or a boast..........but this one..........

"A man who views the world the same at 50 as he did at 20 has wasted 30 years of his life".

Today so far has been a struggle............but I'm battling through.

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.