MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Harry, Ron and Hermione wondered...

...where their broomsticks were.
Today we visited Kotor; it is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a fortified city on the banks of a fjord with ramparts over 20 metres thick it is an amazing warren of narrow streets (no cars allowed). We spent hours wandering the ramparts and streets; it was hot when we arrived and hotter when we left. In the morning there are clouds around the mountain tops but as I sit here now with a beer nearby the sky is clear blue and it is still bloody hot.
There has been a settlement here since Byzantine times and has exchanged rulers and occupiers 14 times; including very briefly the British during the Napoleonic wars. However, the inhabitants insist it has never been taken by force; even in WWI in 21 November 1944 the Germans withdrew.
The old city is encircled by walls, over 4.5 km and rise up the rocky hillside behind the buildings and harbour. At the top of the hill is the Fortress of St Ivan.
So I could have uploaded a photo of the harbour with a cruise ship in, the ramparts, cannons, churches or spectacular views. Instead broomsticks; I have no idea of their relevance but as I looked through the photos it made me smile and it made Jane smile so that is why it was chosen.
I will return comments and catch up on everyone's blips on my return. Internet connection is flacky (and I promised I would not spend long blipping or working).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.