Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Found it!

For once, I had nothing in the diary this morning, and so Archie and I just dozed till midday. I have often wondered how long I could sleep, and I doubt that midday would be the record. But I think that's best attempted on a cold wet day in winter.

We had a wander round the block and Archie, embarrassingly, barked at a young lady in a mobility scooter who was on the pavement. He's never seen this before. I apologised profusely, and we got talking. She has MS and had just been out exploring the area. MS is particularly prevalent in Scotland, though nobody knows why - it can't just be 'lack of sun' as there are plenty of countries in the same latitude.*

We had a wee play with the ball in the back garden, then JR took Archie up the Hill when she came home. I rested. I'm feeling quite weary. Must have been all that shopping yesterday!

STOP PRESS! My missing hat button has turned up! It was under the sofa. Sorry Archie - fancy thinking that you'd eat my button...

* From Google: The fact that multiple sclerosis is most prevalent in northern Europe, North America, Australia and New Zealand has led to speculation that it has been carried around the world by European colonists and settlers. It has been suggested that the origins can be traced back to the Vikings who colonised those parts of Northern Europe where MS is most pronounced and that 'Viking genes' can make people particularly susceptible to MS.

It has also been noted that Scotland has a much higher rate of multiple sclerosis than England or Wales and that areas of high MS prevalence around the world have been settled by Scottish immigrants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.