Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Wall to wall tartan!

Anne and her mum and dad came over this morning to take Archie out for the day. He showed them his new trick, which he hasn't quite mastered yet - catching a piece of carrot when I throw it to him. Though he has a pretty good success rate. I explained about the missing button, which might appear today, and it didn't seem to put them off...

I took advantage of the freedom and went into town to purchase a pair of 'powerline adaptors'. I rang Virgin Media again to complain and the chap gave me some useful advice about boosting the wifi connection to the TV. Just two plugs that use the power sockets. Seems too good to be true, but I can't wait to set them up. Though I need another wall socket...

I took a sudden uncontrollable urge to go on into town after my plug purchase. Then I had another urge to actually go into a shop! Yes, I went into M&S, mainly to thank every assistant I came across for the peace and quiet - No Muzak! I haven't been in there for many years, but I was able to browse for ages and even try on and purchase a couple of items to show my approval of the lack of screeching pop songs being inflicted on me. That should boost their profits no end! Though I suspect at least one of my purchases will be returned.

It was very hot in town, but as I came back home, the skies turned dark and thunder was rumbling, but it amounted to nowt in the city, though I see on the news there was flash flooding ten miles south at Penicuik! It feels quite tropical!

Archie and Anne returned later, button-less. There's always tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.