Peonies

I am having a peony conversion.  I now think I love the
single blooming blossoms over the double ones.  Wow!
I did not think that would happen.  My outdoor gardens
are full of blooming peonies.....A lovely time of the gardening
year.  I have both a pink and white "single-blooming" bushes.
I have only one complaint about peonies......I wish the
stalks were more sturdy and would stand upright, not
sinking to the grass level when heavily ladden with blooms.

Here is a bit of poetry for you!


Paeonia Testimonial

Pioneers traveled with plantings.
Along to give lasting connection
Twixt home and distant homestead.

Peonies rooted in new surroundings.
A symbol of home midst struggle
Still there when owners long-gone.

Testimony by worthy competitors
Standing tall against knotted grasses
Pushing forth blooms through the years.

Blossoms, blushing pink, white and Rose,
Against foundations of past lives;
Fragrantly nodding to whispered breezes.

Be it overgrown cemetery or homestead,
These plantings stay to give testimony
Of what was there and will be no more!

Molly LeGreve Karjala

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.