Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Alastair Brownlee

I give you - the Gold Medallist in the World Triathalon series - Alastair Brownlee for GB!

I have had a brilliant day volunteering, but I am now completely exhausted. 6:30am start, getting pallets of water to location, but I did get to meet Johnny Brownlee after that. Then it was the Amateur Race (we only saw the running side), which was huge fun. 

Then we moved location (plus tables and water) to a bit further round for the professional race. This is completely different. For the amateurs, we had water in cups. You can't do that for professionals (too easy to doctor), so it was bottled water, held in a specific way (arm outstretched, not moving, balancing the bottle in your palm). My arms will ache tomorrow. But I gave water to some of our elite GB athletes! Plus a few others. 

I was able to take photos for the cycling - which had the leaders, Australian first, then Alastair Brownlee, followed by brother Johnny. But when the running started - it was a different story. Alastair was in front in the first lap, with Johnny second and the Australian third - and the gap just got bigger and bigger. Hugely exciting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.