Dahlia

Today has been one of those Sundays when nobody seems to be in charge…least of all me. OilMan and I sat in the arbor this morning and had our coffee, admiring the view of the wooded hills and open meadows of Annadale State Park. We never hike there because dogs are not allowed in State Parks. Since bicycles and horses are welcome, we don't see what it is that is so threatening about dogs, but its a lot easier to admire the view from home with coffee in hand anyway….

The West End Farmers' Market was in full swing when we got to Flying goat. Dogs aren't allowed there either but we took turns having a look and found very little under the white tents in the way of food. Ozzie was happy to wait for us to finish our Aztek Mochas so he could lick the spicy milk foam out of the bottom of our cups.

Tomorrow the week will begin again and I will awaken with that 'oh no, It's Monday" feeling, even though we are both retired and Monday is really no different from any other day. At least somebody will be in charge and I will get up and go to my 8am Pilates class,  prepaid, so to speak because I won a 5 class package. Sonya, the teacher, had a party to celebrate the first anniversary of her studio, Breathe Pilates, and I won the classes in the raffle. It might be the first time I've ever won anything in a raffle. I will be sure to wear my Breathe  tee shirt.

Most of the flowers are the same as previous years because they grow from the same tubers (dahlias) and seeds (zinnias). I've always liked the red and white dahlias,  so I hope I have managed a slightly different shot for today's offering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.