stuartjross

By stuartjross

Water so Sweet

Our survey site today has been on the board for almost a year.

Rannoch is a remarkably awkward place to get to, local accommodation is scarce and the initial lack of urgency from the client combined with several call offs had all served for me to build up a mental block about the project. It is a long drive but it is worh having a feel for the geography here. After two and a half hours driving we get to the site road end and there is a sign saying footpath to Fort William. I have just checked; the site is about 17 miles from my front door at Roy Bridge. From here a two hour walk through the hills would take you to Corrour. Corrour children attend primary school in Roy Bridge.
Rannoch is actually served by a railway station on the West Highland Line and perhaps remote is not the correct term to use for this location, maybe central, because you can see a long long way in all directions to familiar mountains. We could of course see Scheihallion then the Glen Lyon hills all the way to Achalader, Ben Lui, the Glen Coe mountains, a little bit of the Mamores and if you cast your eye along the length of Black Water reservoir and beyond you could glimpse Garbh Bheinn above Ardgour. Had I climbed higher I would have caught sight of Stob Coire na Ceannain at the end of the Grey Corries and from its summit I can see my front window.

It was a hard day with many blip options but I opted for this shot simply because the water in the burn - the Allt Eigheach- is so clear and I liked the way these red granite boulders glistened when the sun came out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.