AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

memory blip

an 85 year old friend, Cathie, asked me to take her to M&S, she is going into hospital again this week and wanted new slippers etc. she is recovering from a broken hip and now has to have an angiogram. she is an amazing lady, has let a great life, much of it in the US where she looked after lots of children.

she happened to say over coffee that she had a silver necklace set that she wanted me to have that she bought in Taxco, Mexico, in 1968. I didn't know she had been to Mexico - I was there in 1971 - so we had a wonderful half hour taking about our experiences and the places we visited. I surprised myself by remembering the names of some of the places I hadn't thought about for years - the floating gardens of Xochimilco, Popocatapetl, the famous volcano - and how we were both disappointed in Acapulco.

when I came home I fished out one of my old photo albums and spent another happy few minutes looking at these old and very badly taken snaps from that trip, and decided that they would be today's blip. I still have an old ring bought in Taxco, along with the wee bag it came in. probably needs viewed large to see the name etc. the photos are mostly of the pyramid to the sun at Teotihuacan, just outside Mexico City.

another day that didn't turn out as expected! isn't the human brain/mind/memory a wonderful thing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.