DanielleMason

By DanielleMason

Race Day

I couldn't have asked for better conditions for today's triathlon on Belle Isle. The skies were clear and water was a comfortable 77 degrees. I had good friends at my side and plenty of support. Time had been spent running, cycling and swimming. This has been an event I've looked forward to and an athletic challenge I never thought I'd try. I've done some half marathons with ease, enjoyed the training.

The swim went okay, first half of the biking went fine. Pulled a muscle/ IT band and sat out the run. That's not even close to my best. I'm glad I showed up, despite questions on my training. I wasn't psyched out by swimming in the Detroit River which almost deterred friends and I away entirely (one did cancel). But it was the worst race day I've had. The athletic ability is there.

My next race is already scheduled within the month. Can't wait to train harder and do my best at the next run/ bike/swim. Have a plan to fine tune nutrician and training, ways to improve conditioning.

In the next month today's event will be completed with the best time possible. Congrats to Amy who had an amazing second half of the race, and thanks for a great experience that will be markedly better.

To be continued...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.