One Picture Allowed

A day with a wonderful clouded sky and a warm sun kiss for the countryside. A day for exploring the valleys and vineyards which inspired so many a poet, author, painter or photographer and gave rise to that most prestigious wine: Champagne. Or discover the sumptuous décor of the château of Condé. The last we did ...

The Château of Condé, a princely residence. An absolute beautiful outside view in the landscape, but the interior is an absolute, not to miss, gem. Inside you can admire its precious 18th century décor, designed and decorated by some famous artists. As there are the Watteau wing, the Servandoni Ballroom (today's picture) and the drawing room, decorated by Oudry with a mirror that changes in a painting and vice versa. It's also known as the 'unforgettable "magic" mirror'.

Problem was: taking pictures was prohibited! I was approached by the Lady of the Château herself the moment I broke the rule. After I explained that I only publish one picture a day in my blip journal, she allowed me to make one picture and publish it. For more about this castle please click here.

I asked the Lady about the maintenance of the castle. She said that in fact two things are most important. Health for perseverance and money to pay for the costs.

So may you be some day in the lovely Picardie region in France one thing you mustn't forget: pay a visit to that princely residence, The Château of Condé in 02330 Condé-en-Brie. I promised the Lady to mention that in my journal ... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.