Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Portsmouth

I've always loved the maritime bustle of Portsmouth. Today my daughter and I went down to the Royal Navy Submarine Museum to see X Craft 24 (astonishing, I shall dream of it - think Above Us the Waves those midget subs are X Craft) and to have a look over HMS Alliance, which was a working full-size sub until the 1970s and is now a memorial to all submariners and civilians who died in submarines.

We also took the water taxi round Portsmouth Harbour, which is where I took this shot. The Spinnaker Tower you see in the left of this shot was looking particularly fetching (for £70 you can abseil off the top). We saw what warships were in and admired the sleek yachts in the marina and the rough and tough working vessels moored to various jetties. I'm not sure what kind this is and I wish someone would tell me - my interest is only exceeded by my ignorance!

Hope you've had a fab weekend x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.