One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Job in Vauxhall

This afternoon I had an interview for some work in Vauxhall.

Being Luton born and bred you may think I went to a car manufacturer, but I didn't.

It was in a building with satellite dishes on the roof.

Knowing that you could think that I visited this building, but if I had I wouldn't get the job if I posted about it.

I actually went somewhere else, close to the Vauxhall Griffin pub (see extra). So many connections to Luton, and a pub reflecting the connections named after the manufacturer who was the main employer in the town for most of my lifetime, and their emblem all in one. Which got me to check out the origin of the use of the griffin as their emblem, over to Wikipedia.

The griffin emblem is derived from the coat of arms of Falkes de Breauté, a mercenary soldier who was granted the Manor of Luton for services to King John in the thirteenth century. By marriage, he also gained the rights to an area near London, south of the Thames. The house he built, Fulk's Hall, became known in time as Vauxhall. Vauxhall Iron Works adopted this emblem from the coat of arms to emphasise its links to the local area. When Vauxhall Iron Works moved to Luton in 1905, the griffin emblem coincidentally returned to its ancestral home.

So now you and I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.