mef13

By mef13

Picnic in the Park

It felt like a real summer’s day. The sun was out, it was pleasantly warm and shirt sleeve weather. So I took delight in going to the Mayor’s picnic.
The Mayor of Romsey, that is, and an annual picnic in the park, the town’s Memorial Park which is bounded by branches of the River Test, and also venue for the town’s annual duck race, arranged by Rotary.
And I was certainly not alone. The people of Romsey took the day to heart, and turned up with their picnics to enjoy on the grass in the sun, and just as many to seek shade under the trees.
I watched a Punch and Judy show which took me back, I don’t know how many years, I joined the Mayor in listening  to the tones of the Romsey Mountbatten Community Choir, and saw to my surprise that even the ducks on the river bank seemed to preening themselves ready for the duck race, oblivious it appears that it is actually plastic ducks which are raced on the fast flowing river past the park.
Never mind, everyone was in a “let’s enjoy summer’”  mood.  And walking back to my car I came across another picnic for the congregation in the grounds of the town’s Norman Abbey after morning service..
Oh! And just up the road, the town’s Farmer’s Market  was in full swing, and the town’s preserved railway signal box, now a living museum exhibition, was open  to visitors.

A day to be proud of being British and more than that, to be a Romsonian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.