Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Deflated

I'm a bit of a news junky, so today was an absolute overload! Not only the UK domestic political circus, which is fascinating enough on its own, but the Pistorious trial (six years for murder??) and the Chilcot report. But good news stories too - Wales and Wimbledon!

Need I say it - JR popped to school (sorting out groups for next year). Archie and I spent the morning in the back garden. I was able to watch the news on my iPad outside, so as not to miss anything. I washed the path - those bloomin' seagulls make a mess! Archie has learned now that a brush (broom) is not a toy, and he just watches. He did lots of fetching his football. Until he spotted something really scary, and began barking like mad. It was this little deflated yellow balloon! Mind you, it did have a wee (scary) face on it. Daft dog. He does look a bit embarrassed...

In the afternoon Bailey and her mum came to take Archie for a big walk, while JR and I went into town for lunch. We're big fans of the voucher systems - it's a great way to try out new places. We had a great set lunch - steak and delicious duck fat chips - and good service with a nice Aussie waiter. But... the most awful muzak - really screechy jazzy James Brown yelly torture. I asked the waiter if it could be turned down. It was. But it was gradually increased again throughout the meal. JR says I've not to keep going on about muzak, so I won't.

Popped to a nearby favourite shop, and I got a new hat. And this one will never be in Archie's jaws. Fact.

I was desperate to be home in time for Murray's match, and thought I would have plenty of time, but I got a text saying Federer was two sets down! Jings, it was going to be a short game! Panic. But good ol' Fed hung in and won. Then Murray's game!! Wowee. What amazing athletes tennis players are.

Just going to watch the second half of the football.

And I haven't even had time to read all the post-Chilcot reactions...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.