Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Skipper

I think this is a Large Skipper but will have to rely on someone more reliable for a butterfly ID as I've never really worked out the difference between the large and the small of the species.  

I was working in Bookham this morning so decided, having seen a blip of a Purple Emperor, which I've now lost, to go and find the illusive butterfly. The person I'm working for would have told me straight away which this little critter is as he is a butterfly and moth expert and has been responsible for surveys locally.  He informed me that the norm has the Purple Emperors flying from the 8th July, The blip by Richard Donkin was early and I also met a lady in the car park who told me that she had found one last week. She took a pic which is now taking up the centre page of the local newspaper. 

I wasn't alone in walking with a camera in the hope of finding one.  Every now and again I stumbled on other photographers but none had seen any.  Another woman in the car park informed me that she's been walking on the Common for ten years and never seen one.  I suspect she's not really been looking for them.  
The dogs were more than happy to wander around for a couple of hours and even found puddles to wallow in.  Another bath! 

I'll go back in a few days when the weathers a little warmer. The Purple Emperor is almost as rare as the Rocking Horse muck they love to perch on when they come out of the trees. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.