AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

All change

Guten tag meine Freunde. Heute bin ich in Österreich, in a hotel attached to Innsbruck train station. As you might guess, it's not the best area but it's convenient. A bit tired when I arrived - new neighbours in the hotel room next to mine last night who only seemed to need 4 hours sleep and assumed everyone else was the same - so I've just been for a short walk to get my bearings and visit a couple of churches a bit off the beaten path. Eating in the hotel tonight (Pietro, äpfel strudel but no stein) and an early night I suspect!

So, while strolling:
- I saw rollerblading but no lederhosen - am v disappointed by this
- I feel more inclined to speak English here - it being a germanic language too - but uncomfortable when doing it. I studied German up to the end of first year at university, aber ich habe viele vergessen.
- I went into a Segafredo cafe for a caffeine hit to go, and they gave me a straw. Like the language thing, I used it but it felt odd...
- I found the local sex shops on the way to the churches, which somehow strikes me as wrong!

Feeling a little bit homesick tonight. When I first started thinking about making this trip, I was in a much worse place emotionally and physically and all I could think of was escaping my reality for a while. Things have changed considerably in the past year - the black cloud is now a much paler grey and is drifting away, thank goodness. It does mean I like where I was though, and I look forward to getting back there. Having said that, I understand it's cold and overcast there, so I think I'll go on for a while...

And I've got company at the weekend :-)

Tschüß x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.