See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

A Surprise Appearance

We finally had a really lovely sunny day and I took several photos of butterflies in the garden but none were willing to pose against the nice blue sky so I delayed blipping them........I've been told that a barn owl often hunts in the local fields in the evening, so after my meal I set out to see if I could find him. I got a bit lost, wandered off the footpath and found myself walking round the edge of a corn field, when I heard lots of rustling and noises that sounded like a hedgehog eating loudly, so I stood very still and waited for it to emerge..........imagine my surprise when, expecting a hedgehog, I see a badger appear ........and not one but FIVE adults and one baby!!!!.......and they didn't even notice me because I was standing so still. I was so shocked that I just stood and stared with my jaw hanging open ( not a pretty sight)......fortunately I managed to get my wits about me finally and get a few shots ( mostly of badgers bums ) , this was the only one I was reasonably happy with and I'm so thrilled that I managed to record the sighting :-))))
Unfortunately I didn't see the owl but I will definitely go back again in search of both owl and baby badger blips :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.