my eyes they cannot lie

By girlsonfilm

God is a Manc...Art Gallery

We had a wonderful day.

Spent a lot of it in Manchester Art Gallery for the Rags to Riches workshops.
It was great, we looked at the installations and drew them in charcoal, then the girls made paper..MADE PAPER!

Then we looked at the interactive exhibitions...I took a load of photos of them wearing the costumes, in the mirrored gallery and the pair getting immersed in the art.

We had a long tasty lunch at the gallery then visited the new LEGO shop in town. It was amazing! We all made minifigs...the girls made 3 figs each. I was dead proud because Eve said to me "They all have AWESOME jobs mum" she made an astronaut, a birdwatcher and a police officer.

All had long hair and makeup..no job titles were prefaced with 'lady'... she just takes it for granted that these are jobs for women. I bloody love that.

I adore art galleries, libraries and museums..and my girls do too. But not in that 'Yummy Mummy' way - but in a total Ferris Bueller way.

They walked around the gallery, they *made* and appreciated art..and felt totally comfortable with chilling out in the gallery. although this may look like two naughty kids being disrespectful...

The girls just lay in silence and took it all in! BLIP


They out Ferrissed us all.

The way they feel comfortable enough to enjoy the art in galleries and museums makes me chalk up a point on the 'not doing too bad' parenting board.
xKx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.