Cheered up !

Its been a bit of a busy couple of days & despite the fact that the internal bleeding has stopped I still feel tired & drained. So yesterday I was awoken at 0430 by someone fixing up a fluids drip which took its time & by 0830 it was finished. Then I was whisked away from the Churchill Hospital to the John Radciffe II hospital for my procedure which was delayed because my notes had been left in the Ambulance. After an hour hour or so they were retrieved & I was then taken into the "theatre" where I was told that in a few seconds you will feel very drowsy .....the next thing I knew I was in a room with lots of others being woken up with a cup of tea, which was very welcome.. After a while I was declared fit to return to my ward but it took another hour or so before my transport arrived. Once back on the ward I had more tea and a chicken curry (of sorts) before another little sleep.

Later my 2 Drs from the Haemophilia Centre called to see me to say that nothing untoward had been found but that it would be necessary to find the source of the bleeding to ensure that a permanent stop could be made to it preferably by the use of drugs. So my Factor VIII levels are high & I am keeping them topped up with self infusions over the weekend before returning to the Centre on Monday for more blood tests to ensure that "it" is fixed. It is likely that the next step will be to swallow a pillcam which takes a photograph every 18 seconds as it passes through your body. This enables a non invasive method of pictures being taken of your entire "innards".

Anyhow today we had a lie in followed by a leisurely lunch before Nicola & Richard (& Zak) called in to cheer me up. The little man was his usual smiley self which is something that I am not at the moment. 

Can I just say thanks to you all for your messages of goodwill - I'll be back to normal soon I hope, & I will recommence with my commenting. Also thanks to everyone for the stars & hearts on my entry on 14 July.

a dull dry windy lazy day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.