Camara de Lobos

This is the classic view, the one that Churchill loved.

This fishing village has seen hard times. It was notorious for huge families with fifteen or more children. Visitors about ten years ago regularly had trouble - kids throwing stones etc. It's not as elegant as Funchal but it has history and the locals are friendly these days, al though they aren't so confident with their English.

I was having an exploring day for my final day. There was a cycle event on the coast road so the buses were all on chaotic divert and traffic built up crazily. The number one came first so I got on and stayed to the terminus.

From there you can walk down to Camara de Lobos which I did. The small Main Street there was jazzed up for a fiesta, not subtly, but it will clearly be fun.

The wifi in my usual cafe wasn't working so I splurged on Sunday lunch in the best fish restaurant in town.

They recognised me and thoroughly spoiled me. The most magnificent fresh red mullet I've ever eaten, with great wine and the local fried maize and salad.

Not surprisingly, I don't want to go home tomorrow.

Hope you're all enjoying Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.