Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Looking at things differently

I used to dislike these orange crocosmia.

Not by choice we seem to have had them in every garden with every house we've ever lived in over the years. I'm not keen on the way they spread and spread and spread. I've always felt they could take over a whole garden like triffids if not kept in check. And I'm not keen on masses of spiky green leaves. But I have started to look more closely at them recently and have noticed how much bees like them.
I'm also quite impressed with the structural beauty of the flower spikes and almost plait-like look they have before the flowers open.

I'm thinking a lot today about looking at things differently.

I finally finished and submitted the VAT return and caught up to date with lots of payments. Looking at how and where money goes makes you think about how it's not possible to have economic recovery if small businesses like ours are stretched so much we can't support other small businesses because we are so beholden to big businesses and power structures.
Taking away people's power to help themselves in small ways takes away their possibility to pass on any growth/success and make ethical and considerate choices.

I think some ways of thinking are stuck in a mindset and people can't or won't make important connections and adjustments. I do wish people would accept that they need to look at things differently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.