Deaf Sentence

I have been getting more and more deaf over the last couple of weeks. A trip to the docs confirmed a blockage and I was told to go away and put olive oil in my ear twice a day. I was hoping that this might solve the problem without syringing as I am a giant wuss when it comes to any sort of surgical procedure. Unfortunately, the deafness, buzzing and blocked feeling just got worse and worse. I realised today that I needed to sort it out and was able to get an appointment to get it syringed.
I won't go into detail but when I saw what came out it's no surprise I couldn't hear anything. What a relief it was when my ear suddenly cleared.
I now have renewed sympathy for anyone with hearing loss, including my dad who has had hearing aids for as long as I can remember but still has problems, particularly in noisy situations where he can't pick out the voice of the person speaking to him above the general noise and chatter of his surroundings.
As a short term disability, it's easy to see the funny side; people laughing, ENUNCIATING ..IN ..A ..SLOW ..AND.... EXAGGERATED... WAY, pretending to use sign language when you don't hear them for the 2nd or 3rd time. Others get irritated when you don't answer them or take it as a slight......

Here is Nurse Helen (D's sister) offering to remove the blockage 'the Cumbrian way'. Not surprisingly, I politely refused and poured her another glass of prosecco. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.