Oak, Elm, Booze 'n chocolate

I found and bought a gateway to Narnia. It's a keeper. And it works. We are also pleased to announce that at the grand old age of 43 and 44 (cough, Dave being the oldest, very important to point that out for accuracy really, that I am a full year younger, a whole 12 months, a whopping 365 da.....I digress) anyway, we have decided we might be mature and sophisticated enough to own our very first drinks cabinet. I blame Kim luring me in with my OCD bottle sorting.

So what's in the cupboard so far on this, day 1, of our new lives as mature and sophisticated adults. Well, alongside the 2 year old sticky bottle of Pimms (seemed like a good idea after our Wimbledon visit many
Moons ago) and the variously drained 3 gin type cordial things from Christmas past I've carefully placed my orange Jacob chocolate club biscuits in it. Why? Why not! Let's face it, Dave's vodka won't last the week, while the national drink never lasts and I've drank the Christmas prosecco. But well, you know, we'll build it up slowly. And it truly will of course be ever so sophisticated because a) it will be a Bailey's (boak) free zone and b) actually no, it won't be in any way sophisticated because I'm going to buy that mingin' martini just to remind me of my dads annual Christmas Day drinks shop that I used to steal and make a home made mix from and head off to the park (to meet, yes, you've guessed it, that Kim, such a bad influence) when I was a daft wee nyaff. Mega boak nostalgia. As for the Jacob orange clubs, it's not a full pack, just the two that were left after the kids discovered there was chocolate in the house (all of 10 minutes).

So really it's a multitasking cupboard of unsophisticated short termism. We are really, very, most absolutely, officially grown up now. Not really. Not at all. More like playing at grown ups mostly. I actually prefer diluting juice.....

Back in the real world Dave was on a man date for a horror filmathon sleepover this weekend while I beachcombed the crap out of the sand like there was no tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.