Had a really lazy day on the beach today reading and snoozing and swimming. Toby got a little tennis set from the shop at the end of the road and is obsessed with that at the moment. 

Went out for dinner in the evening and chose one of many restaurants on the pine walk. Half way through the meal I looked across and saw that one of my old bosses was sat 2 tables away with his family. Last time I saw him he was doing my redundancy consultation. It wasn't very pleasant and wasn't handled very well and was a very upsetting time especially as I was 20 weeks pregnant. 

I didn't know what to do at first - whether to pretend I had not seen him (as he was two tables away that was unlikely) or whether to go and say hello. I decided to go and say hello. He somehow knew all about doglegs and his wife said she was about to face redundancy and would like to do something similar. It felt kind of satisfying standing there telling him how successful it is and the nice work-life balance it gives me. It was a friendly conversation and I am glad I went over, although I did start to replay the whole redundancy over and over afterwards and it took me a while to switch that off.

After dinner we wandered about and saw some Spanish dancers, sand sculptures and browsed round the street market. Toby and Eva chose some cute animal key rings. There was a festival on and due to be fireworks on the beach and a procession, which to be honest sounded a bit mad - warnings about fireworks shooting off in the wrong direction and advise to shopkeepers to pull down their shutters and close up and 'Don't bring children but if you do bring children keep them in your sight' etc etc. We thought we would maybe sit at the quiet end of the beach and watch the fireworks. We managed to stay out until about 10.30pm but the kids were really tired so in the end we gave up waiting and went back to the apartment. I was just drifting off to sleep when I heard the fireworks at 12.30am, so we made the right choice. There is no way the kids would have stayed awake for that. Plus we had an early start the next day for dolphin watching! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.