Ballerinas

The fuchsia flow over the flower bed in my back garden. The roses and geum are left scrambling to find light.

A drizzly grey morning but cheered up by a visit to the florist who will do our wedding flowers. The florist lives in the village and runs her business from home. I particularly wanted her to do our flowers as she uses locally grown flowers, some from her own garden.

Afterwards I spent three or so hours at the allotment, cutting back the side shoots on my tomato plants (long overdue), cutting the grass and removing caterpillars from my fruit bushes (the gooseberry bushes have been stripped bare - luckily I had already harvested the fruit). By the time I left it was warm and sunny.

I spent the rest of the afternoon making courgette soup and ratatouille to use up some of my courgettes and French beans. Then finally before tea I washed the car. I felt worn out by the time I had dinner so this evening I sat down to watch a couple of episodes of the BBC series on the natural history of New Zealand. The time lapse photography of the glaciers was amazing, as was the footage of the glow worms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.